Thursday Doors – St. Trophime

I’d had my fill of cathedrals by this time in our trip to France.  So I was not enthused about finding the Church of St. Trophime, a recommended stop in Arles. I think I even whined about wanting to sit in a cafe. I was so wrong.

The rounded portal of this medieval Romanesque church is gorgeous, and refreshing after so much heavy, pointed Gothic. Delicately carved and beautifully proportioned, the entry is surrounded by sculptures depicting the Last Judgment, including lines of souls in chains.

It was built between the 12th and 15th century of finely dressed ashlar masonry, meaning it uses precisely cut stones and little or no mortar. A gorgeous church, and a reminder of the travel rule never to turn up your nose at something in the belief it will be just more of the same.

This post is for Norm’s Thursday Doors. And you can see lots more doors from other bloggers, here.

◊◊◊

Photo Credit: Last image only, CC BY-SA 3.0

There are 13 comments

  1. jesh stg

    Wow! Incredible work with all these details! When I see this I wished I could take a look into the life of then and these sculptures and builders! Were you also in Arles to see something from van Gogh’s history?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kim Richardson

    Oh! How magnificent is that architecture! I love the details and the contrast of those heavy red doors with the building’s facade. Lucky for us that you did go visit rather than opt for the cafe 😉

    Like

What do you think?

